2015 Newgy and Wang Vision Institute Open Table Tennis Tournament Results

A lot of the local table tennis players were excited to hear that the top four seeds were all rated at over 2500. This would be the first time our Nashville event in the two-gym Academy Park would host such strong players. Unfortunately, Friday morning the guys from Mississippi College called and had to cancel. So the draw got shuffled and the local guys now had a chance to win some money.

Williamson County Parks and Recreation had really stepped up a couple of years ago when they installed new lights in the gyms, and many players come back because of the great playing environment in these gyms.  Newgy provided enough barriers that the table tennis courts can each be fully separated. The Nashville Table Tennis Club received 4 new ping pong tables just a few days before the event and were able to put 14 tables out for all the matches.

A new table tennis coach in Atlanta – Jianho Sun – showed why he was the top seed; he dropped 2 games the whole day! For 9 table tennis matches, he was 27-2 in games, including both the 3-0 semi-final and final. Seeded overall number 2, Yevgeniy Puzyrev had a much harder route. Yev outlasted Memphis chopper Leidy Handoko 3-2 for 1st in group play and then had to win a 12-10 fifth from a very game Mina Boushra in the semi-final.

Congratulations to all the tournament winners!

Open: 1st– Jianho Sun, 2nd –Yevgeniy Puzyrev, 3rd – Leidy Handoko, 4th – Mina Boushra

Class A: 1st – Benjamin Hartwiger, 2nd – Robert Weishaeupl, 3rd –Shannon Bishop, 4th –Tim Neuendorf

Class B : 1st – Fangxing “Fran” Li, 2nd – Archie Jordan, 3rd – Luc Vo, 4th – Yiqing “Linda” Liu

Class C : 1st – Eric Wang, 2nd – Michael Fang, 3rd – Grant Hall, 4th – Nicolae Avram

Class D: 1st – Eli Mann, 2nd – Zsolt Lattmann, 3rd – Fred Mitchell II

The Lower Tier opted into a Giant Round Robin of 10. 9 matches sounded good at 9:00 am but by noon a few of the guys thought it would never end.

1st – Ramaraj Gobinath (9-0), 2nd – Sergey Semenov (8-1), 3rd – Bowen Zhou (6-3), 4th – Reese Nordan (6-3), 5th –  Akhilesh Vigneshwaran (6-4)

Previous Post Next Post

  • Jena Newgarden
Comments 0
Leave a comment
Your Name:*
Email Address:*
Message: *

Please note: comments must be approved before they are published.

* Required Fields